YOU WISH by Terry Tyler – BOOK REVIEW 5 STARS

SYNOPSIS – by Terry Tyler

Do we control our own destiny – or might it be determined by fate, coincidence, luck…or even magic?

Ruth, an amateur psychic with a husband who smokes cannabis for breakfast, is haunted by a tragic event from her teenage years which, she suspects, was the result of a wish she made on an allegedly enchanted stone. Too embarrassed to admit her fears, she keeps her secret to herself for twenty-five years.

Petra is the perennial singleton amongst her friends, unable, she thinks, to fall in love. She comes across the stone at a Psychic Fair and makes a wish, just for fun. As the wish begins to come true she wishes she had chosen her words with more care.

Spoilt, weight-obsessed Sarah wants nothing more than to be “size zero”. As her life spirals downwards into the seedy world of drug abuse and addiction, she remembers the day at the Psychic Fair when she wished for her heart’s desire.

When Ruth learns of the fates of Petra and Sarah she is forced to confront her guilt and discover the truth about the Wishing Stone…

Terry Tyler’s debut novel is a quirky contemporary drama exploring the themes of family affairs, infidelity and guilt, incorporating jealousy, drug abuse and the obsession of a Facebook stalker, against a backdrop of secrets and superstition.

 
REVIEW – by Alice Huskisson

I was given a Kindle for my birthday and knew immediately which book I should choose in order to lose my eBook virginity. I’d seen YOU WISH by Terry Tyler being tweeted far and wide by many authors at Twitter and had already read a lot of reviews about it. Easy choice, and I must say, an EXCELLENT one!

I like an easy read, not one that goes in to the deepest detail, but one which tells me just enough to allow me to use my imagination and create pictures of the characters in my head. I like a lot of conversation with a simple and yet unpredictable story. YOU WISH is written in a lovely style and ticked all of my boxes.

The story is clever and all the characters are 100% believable. I clung on to Petra’s every word and move and was eager to see what she would do next – I simply had to keep reading – it was addictive. I was only able to find time to read each night in bed, and I had trouble turning out the light once I’d reached the second half of the book. A fab story, great characters, and very entertaining.

Nice one, Terry! I’ll be back for more.

BUY ‘YOU WISH’ HERE

YOUWISH

Leave a Reply

