The Liebster Blog Award

liebster-blog-award1

I’ve been nominated by the very lovely Terry Tyler, author of YOU WISH, DREAM ON, and others. Check out her books at Amazon and her blog where you can also see her Liebster Blog post:

http://terrytyler59.blogspot.co.uk/

The purpose of the Liebster Blog Award is to recognise blogs with fewer than 200 followers that deserve a look. My job is to:

(a) List 11 random facts about me;

(b) Answer 11 questions Terry has set me;

(c) Set 11 questions to ask other authors;

(d) Tag 11 authors who should bask in the Liebster glow.

To my nominated author friends – it means doing the same as I am doing here! ie. Post a blog linking back here, with 11 random facts about you, answer my 11 questions and nominate 11 new bloggers to answer 11 new questions you have set them – they can be about anything! If you want to do it but the thought of finding 11 other bloggers to tag and thinking up questions puts you off, just write 11 random facts about yourself, and answer my questions! 🙂


11 random facts about me

(1) I used to weigh three stone (42 lbs) heavier than I am now.

(2) I was once randomly telephoned by a super famous pop star and invited to meet him in London – I turned him down! Don’t ask me who – I won’t reveal. 😉

(3) I am 100% proud to be an Essex girl despite the stigma.

(4) I once fell off a cannon at Dover Castle which I shouldn’t have been climbing in the first place – I’m such a child at heart! I wanted to pose on it for a photo. Shame the moment wasn’t caught on film – I’m sure it was very comical and for a long time afterwards each time I thought of it I couldn’t help giggling.

(5) At twenty-one I had a modelling contract. At twenty-two, I didn’t.

(6) Don’t ever serve me kidneys for dinner – I may just puke.

(7) I’m extremely nostalgic and sentimental and sometimes fill up with tears when I dwell on my childhood in the 1970s, because it was the happiest time of my life and I miss it so much.

1970s-beauty

(8) I lost both my parents within two years of each other, and was ‘orphaned’ in my thirties.

(9) I didn’t learn to cook properly until I was forty-five. It is the only New Year’s resolution I’ve ever stuck to.

(10) My first car was a beige Fiat Panda, and the first time I drove it the hand brake came off in my hand; its fitting detached itself from the rusty floor!

(11) When I was twelve I took a size 8 adult shoe – today I take a 6.5. How did that happen?!

Now, the 11 questions Terry asked me:

1.  What’s your favourite flavour of crisps?

I very rarely eat crisps, but I do love steak flavoured crinkles, or bacon frazzles.

2.  How many of other people’s blog posts do you read per day, on average?

The friend who introduced me to blogging years ago still has a blog she writes for selected friends and I make a point of visiting it to catch up with all her news as often as I can. I do find myself surfing in to other authors’ blogs more regularly now that I’m in ‘the zone’ and I have just subscribed to a handful of authors’ blogs here at WordPress who I’ve become acquainted with in recent months. It’s certainly not a case of a regular amount per day though – time does not allow that.

3.  If you weren’t promoting your book/blog, would you still use Twitter/Facebook so much? If not, how much would you?

I would use Facebook a lot, definitely. I always did before I published THE MAN IN A HAYSTACK – there’s no reason why that would change. I don’t like Twitter other  than for keeping up with a bit of celebrity gossip and I’d possibly ditch it if I didn’t have my work to promote.

4.  Do you smoke?  If not, did you ever?

I’ve never smoked and never will. Putting aside the obvious health disadvantages, I think it’s very unattractive and leaves a nasty niff on the breath and clothes. I don’t see any benefits so why even go there?

5.  When a doctor asks you how much you drink, do you lie?

No, because I only drink one or two small glasses of wine a week. Nothing to feel guilty about there!

6.  What is your star sign?  Do you know about the typical characteristics of that sign, and if so, which ones apply to you?

Aquarius. I have just Googled the typical characteristics of my star sign and 70% match. I’ll keep an open mind but it doesn’t really interest me.

7.  Do you remember your first blog post?  What was it about?

I’ve been blogging on and off for at least seven years and really have no idea what my first post was about. It was probably a simple introduction to who I was and what I intended to blog about in future but I can’t say for sure. I do remember that I had background music on the blog – something I haven’t come across in a long while.

8.  Imagine you have to give up these four things for a month:  Alcohol, writing, listening to music, television.  Starting with the one you would find the easiest to give up, in what order would you find them the easiest to do without?

Alcohol, listening to music, television, writing. I was going to switch the last two with each other as I love ‘me time’ with the TV but then I realised that every evening I try to put the laptop down to watch some TV and it rarely happens as there’s always something to do related to writing – for instance, marketing is never ending.

9.  I love QI, Have I Got News For You, Mock The Week, Ed Byrne, Frankie Boyle sometimes, Fawlty Towers, Python,  Catherine Tate.. and loads more.  I loathe Michael McIntyre.  What do you/don’t you find funny?

Anything written by or starring Ricky Gervais cracks me up. An Idiot Abroad, Extras, Life’s Too Short, The Office, Derek… I love them all. Russell Brand makes me roar, as do Julian Clary and Alan Carr. Classic 1970s sitcoms such as Fawlty Towers, Dad’s Army, The Good Life, Man About the House, Butterflies… love those! One Foot in the Grave, Benidorm, Gavin & Stacey… all very funny. My all time favourite American sitcom is Friends. Comedy I don’t find funny… the new breed of young stand-up comedians – I can’t even name any because I find them so bland and uninteresting.

10.  Do you watch soap operas?  If so, which is your favourite, and if not, why not?

I watch Eastenders and Coronation Street – I try never to miss an episode of either, but if I had to choose one over the other, it would be Corrie because it also has a comedic element which I find very endearing.

11.  And finally – please put a link here to any of your blog posts – tell us what it’s about, and why you have chosen it!

I haven’t been writing a blog this time around for very long so there is not much to choose from. My blogs from years gone by have all been deleted. Therefore, I am directly referencing my book THE MAN IN A HAYSTACK because it is a compilation of my previous dating blog although it’s been turned in to a work of fiction, and of course it is very precious to me now that it is published.

Here are the 11 questions I am asking the 11 authors I plan to tag:

(1) I stumbled in to the ‘author world’ when I was encouraged by several people to turn my dating blog in to a novel. How did you arrive in the author world?

(2) The ‘onesie’ has become very popular in the fashion world with the help of THE ONLY WAY IS ESSEX stars. I’m from Essex and you will rarely find me lounging about at home without my onesie! Which item of clothing would you sorely miss if it was taking away from you?

(3) As a youngster I was taught to play the piano. Classical music was my thing and I played it quite well. Did you ever learn to play a musical instrument? If so, which one and do you still play? If you never played one, do you regret it/would you like to?

(4) Name something on your bucket list and tell me why it’s on there?

(5) When I was a child I used to dream about being a photographic model when I grew up. What did you aspire to be, and did you ever achieve it as an adult?

(6) My favourite track of all time is I’m Not In Love by 10cc, for no other reason than it completely moves me. What is your all time favourite track?

(7) Aside from your spouse/partner, tell me about your best friend.

(8) On average, how many books do you read a month, and what is your favourite genre?

(9) Paperback or electronic reader?

(10) Put a link below to a blog that you enjoy reading.

(11) If a movie was made of THE MAN IN A HAYSTACK, my leading character Mae would be played by one of three actresses – Gwyneth Paltrow, Kate Winslet or Cameron Diaz. Who would you like to play the leading character in a movie of your latest novel?

I am tagging the following authors to continue the next chain of the Liebster Blog Award. When/if they agree, I will place links to their blogs, but for the moment their Twitter name is shown.

Jess Sturman-Coombs @jesssturman

Andrew Barber @authorAVbarber

Suzy Turner @suzy_turner

Jeff Joseph @author_jeff

Chloe Carstairs @chloegetsaclue

Jenny Twist @jennytwist1

Trish Marie Dawson @trish_dawson

Toni Morrow Wyatt @toni1777

Taylor Fulks @taylortfulks20

Christopher Petersen @chrispetersenTX

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Blog Award

  1. Excellent post, Alice – I love these, it’s so great to discover more about people! It made me want to answer your questions, too – and I am a Corrie lover as well! Damn, forgot Ricky Gervais in my comedy list – I love him, too 🙂

    • Aaaw thanks Terry 🙂 it means a lot to hear other authors’ approval. Yes, I really enjoyed this one and love reading everyone else’s Liebster blogs. I’d love to do more of this sort of thing. It’s time consuming – should be writing my sequel – but it’s also enjoyable to take a break and do something different. Thanks for inviting me to this. X

  2. The Liebster Award | Writings from the Soul of a Free Spirit

Leave a Reply

