Book review: MY PRISON WITHOUT BARS by Taylor Fulks

MY PRISON WITHOUT BARS: The Journey of a Damaged Woman to Someplace Normal is a book which came to my notice on Twitter some months ago. I was very much intrigued and soon found myself at the author Taylor Evan Fulksmpwbwebsite and blog. Take a peek!

First of all, I should say that Taylor has very deservedly been awarded over 100 x 5 star reviews at Amazon.com by her readers. On Amazon UK though the reviews are slow to build and I want to do my bit to get the word out to UK readers as this book is quite simply… BRILLIANT! If you do read and love this book, please leave a review at Amazon. It doesn’t have to be long – just a couple of lines is all it takes.

This is Taylor’s debut novel and it is her true life story. I should perhaps mention that if you are not broad minded, if you shock and take offence easily, if you are squeamish, then maybe this isn’t for you. The fact is, Taylor writes from the very depths of her heart and soul, from vivid memories of harrowing and horrifying child abuse to violent physical abuse (including rape) and deeply emotional mental abuse, which has relentlessly followed her around most of her life. She writes in incredible jaw-dropping detail – some might say there is too much information, but for me it was very appropriate, added to the suspense and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. I had to keep reminding myself that this was not a fascinating and insightful product of the author’s imagination – no, Taylor actually lived and experienced these atrocities. I felt an immense sense of guilt every time I consciously realised that I was enjoying such an addictive read – it was a dark reminder that these terrible, unfathomable, inhumane acts of torture actually happened, and I struggled with separating my enjoyment of the story from the immense hatred I felt for the ‘animals’ who carried out such cruel and incomprehensibly vicious attacks on one sweet, wholesome, blameless girl/woman.

I could not understand how her mother lived with her conscience day in and day out knowing there was a paedophile in their home. Okay, so she booted him out but she took him back again, opening up a living hell on earth again for her little girl… and then to point the finger of blame at HER and not the abuser! Oh, that’s not the half of it – wait until you read it! I was half way through the novel wondering when and if Taylor would ever be free of the abuse which came in several forms from many different people over time. How she has ever slept without fear of what’s over her shoulder or around the corner I do not know.

It is quite inconceivable how Taylor has survived to tell the story but thank God she has. It is a story that needs to be told in order to highlight the torturous world of child abuse. You will seriously have your eyes opened big and wide to what really goes on. There were certainly more than enough times when Taylor could have just given up the fight for life but she never did. She is a beautiful and talented woman and I hope that by writing and telling her story it has been nothing short of therapeutic and cathartic for her. I can imagine that when she began to write her story it must have felt as if the flood gates were opened and her heart poured and poured out of her… and kept on pouring. I can’t imagine what a release this must have been for her. But also, how very brave and courageous must this lady be, to lay her life bare for anyone and everyone (including family) to see!?

One thing is for sure – Taylor should receive a standing ovation in the literary world for this masterpiece of real life laid bare, and I would be the first to raise my glass and toast her happy ‘abuse free’ future. She deserves nothing short of peace, love, happiness and great success in all she does from here forward. I know she has another work in progress – this time around it will be fiction – and I’ll be one of the first to buy it, for sure!

This book is OUTSTANDING on so many levels and I’d award it 10 stars at Amazon if I could!

4 thoughts on “Book review: MY PRISON WITHOUT BARS by Taylor Fulks

  1. Thanks Alice. I am downloading the Kindle version of this tonight on the strength of your ‘glowing’ review and recommendation here.
    I shall also submit a rating and review on completion of the read.

  2. Wow this sounds like an incredible book. I would like to buy this even just to support the author in her bravery for not only writing but publishing such a personal and painful piece of writing. How would you compare this book to A Child Called It?

    Thanks for the great review!

    • Christie, thank you so much for your comment and also for following my blog! Very kind of you.

      I read ‘A Child Called It’ by Dave Pelzer a very long time ago and recall it was shocking for its time but Taylor’s story, in my opinion, is on a whole other level. Prepare to be horrified to the extreme. It is the most compelling read I have ever known.

Leave a Reply

